How I lost 20 Pounds (without working out)

I used to be 20-25 pounds heavier than I am now. I remember when summer finally ended and I tried to slip on a pair of jeans that I hadn’t put on in a while. Unfortunately, I couldn’t even pull them up all the way. They stopped just under my butt and I felt a lurch in my stomach. My mind started to race with the possibilities as to why they didn’t fit anymore:

“They shrunk in the wash”… I hadn’t put these jeans in the wash, so that theory was out.

“They shrunk in the drawer”… not possible.

“Maybe they will fit if I try to pull them up now“… they didn’t.

I freaked out mentally and went to look at myself in the mirror. I didn’t notice a big change, except that my face seemed fuller. I went to weigh myself and was shocked when I saw ‘138’ on the scale. My ego tried to reason that it was impossible for me to be that, since I was 119 when I left Oregon. I didn’t understand how this happened, since I thought I was a pretty healthy person and would go jog once in blue moon. (Looking back, I was honestly very unhealthy back then) I made up my mind to drop back down to 120 as quickly as possible.

I became totally obsessed about my weight. I tried counting calories and doing cardio. I got a calorie counter on my phone and started eating protein bars instead of lunch. I got on the scale a little while later and was horrified to see I had gained 4 more pounds. How the f*ck did that happen? I had been restricting and (barely) working out and I expected to be rewarded with a lean bod.

To keep a long story short- it wasn’t until I made one BIG change that the weight fell off me rather quickly. Here is it:

I stopped focusing on weight, on having extra pounds, and started focusing on what number I did want to see on the scale. I changed what I told myself mentally and it made all the difference. I stopped calorie counting and the ridiculous jogs I counted as exercise and just said F it. This doesn’t mean I would go and eat an entire pizza and tell myself I was skinny. I honestly just wanted to start eating better and I didn’t realize I was doing it.

By visualizing what I wanted to see, I attracted it to me. If you think of yourself as someone who is fit, happy and loves to eat healthy, your actions will be very different than if you tell yourself you’re an overweight, sad slob who needs to lose weight.

Do not underestimate the power of visualization.

It is not anyone’s job to lose the weight for you, to get you healthy, or to make you happy. Those are things you need to do yourself. If you want change then you need to be the one to take action.

If you want to be healthier, it’s up to you to do it. Believe me when I tell you complaining or worrying about it will just make you feel worse and you won’t make any change you want to see. Don’t put your happiness or health in someone else’s hands.

Every morning, before you get out of bed, ask yourself “what is the best version of myself?” picture the body you want, the health you want, how you would feel when you attained these things, the energy you would have, and then get out of bed as if you are already that person.

I’m telling you, this stuff works. I know, because I’ve done it.

Much love– Callie ❤

P.S. I told another friend about the power of visualization after she asked me how I lost weight. She tried it herself and lost ten pounds. So, if we can do it, you can easily do it as well!

Leave a Reply

