How I got rid of my horrible menstrual cramps

I didn’t get my period until I was like 16-17 and I don’t remember having very bad cramps for the first few years. Then, like two years ago I started having worse and worse cramps.

They were awful. It felt like someone was trying to stab their way out of my lower abdominal with a knife. Sometimes the pain would be so bad I would throw up. For the first two days of my period, I would be in bed with a heating pad, taking pain killers, or crouched over in the shower while hot water hit my lower back.

I didn’t know why they continued to get worse until recently. After I changed my diet to plant-based my cramps nearly disappeared. I finally linked the fact that my cramps got worse and worse two years ago because I was having way more dairy. I loved pizza and was eating it multiple times a week. I also loved cheese and would eat ice cream occasionally.

I had heard that dairy was linked to more painful cycles, so I cut out the pizza and just had cheese occasionally. I figured my next period would be pain-free.

It wasn’t.

If you want pain free periods, here is my advice:

#1 CUT OUT ALL DAIRY. Dairy is horrible for a number of reasons, but I won’t get into all of them now. I am proof that if you cut this crap out, your cycles will be so much more tolerable. A vlogger named Raw Alignment has a video about birth control up on her YouTube site and near the end of it she talks about bad periods. It took her 2-3 cylces of clean eating for her pain to leave. So, just stick with it and your periods will be a breeze.

#2 CUT OUT PROCESSED FOODS. I know it’s hard when it’s that time of the month and you’re craving junk, but don’t do it to yourself. It will make your period worse.

#3 EXERCISE/YOGA. You don’t have to be a fitness nut, but it definitely helps to move and stretch your body.

I’m sure there are tons of ways out there to help your cramps, but these are what worked for me. It’s so relieving to know I don’t have to be scared of it anymore. I hated when I would get close to the beginning of my cycle and I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to go into work or not. Hopefully, if you have bad cramps, you can get relief with these easy steps!

 

If you are in the beginning stages of cleaning up your diet and your cramps are still bad, try this:

#1-Heating pad. These things were lifesavers for me when I was on my period. It does make you bleed more, so just be aware of that.

#2-Ginger. Add 1/2 a tsp of ginger to warm water and drink. It’s a little spicy but helps relieve pain naturally.

#3-Breathe Deep. Put on a meditation video (YouTube has a bunch of free ones).

 

I hope this helped!

 

Much love–Callie

Leave a Reply

