Don’t force: The story of a forced trip to Miami

I’m sure a lot of you can relate to me when I say that I want to travel the world. I want to go on adventures, swim with (nice, non-biting sharks), hear foreign languages, eat croissants next to the Eiffel Tower, tan on black-sand beaches, chat with locals in Australia, and have a great time living life. But something important I’ve learned is that a trip, just like a good time, or a relationship, should never be forced.

I wanted to travel so badly, to create memories and fun stories, that I went on a trip with a person that I didn’t vibe with on any level. But I wanted so much to start traveling and moving that I accepted to go on this trip even though things were a little off.

It wasn’t the trip that was the problem, it was my mind set. I didn’t want to go. What I wanted was crazy, unforgettable memories. I wanted to get away from the sadness I had been feeling. So, I went.

I remember the first night there I cried because I just wanted to be home.

And yeah, I know, poor me for going to Miami. I’m not trying to sound like a complete and total asshole (which I probably am) but my whole point of this article is that I don’t want you to make the same mistakes that I did.

DON’T FORCE ANYTHING.

Don’t try to mold a situation, person, or thing into what you want. It is what it is. You will have your dream life, but only when you let go of trying to control everything. If something doesn’t feel right in your gut, please listen. Don’t go places you don’t wanna go, don’t be with someone you don’t want to be with, and don’t say yes when you want to say no.

Follow your heart and the right opportunities will present themselves.

I’ve found that it matters a lot less where you are, if you are with the right people. If you go somewhere with someone you don’t really like, then the trip probably won’t be that fun. But you could be in the middle of nowhere with your with someone you love and you’d have an amazing time.

When I went to Miami with the wrong person, I had a terrible time. But when I went to Shreveport, Louisiana (a little place with nothing to really do), with my best friend, I had a great time. We could do literally anything together and we would have fun.

So, listen to your gut, surround yourself with people that are good for you, and you will have a happy life.

Much love–Callie ❤

Leave a Reply

