Why it’s Stupid to Have Guilt Over Having Depression

My depression used to be incredibly severe. My mounting anxiety sucked. But on top of all of that, I had tremendous guilt I even had depression. I had no reason to be depressed. I had a loving family, a working body, a house, food, life was good. So, I didn’t think I had any right to feel depressed. I wasn’t sitting there thinking having a pity party about my sadness. I was a lot harder on myself, telling myself to snap out of it, that I didn’t have any reason/right to be feeling that way.

But that only made it worse. And what I finally realized was that it’s perfectly okay to feel depressed, even if you don’t see an external reason. It’s okay to sometimes feel separate, alone, anxious, sad… we are human, so we should give ourselves a break. Give yourself some love instead of criticism, and slowly you’ll find your way out of it. Here are some tips that helped me get rid of mine… and it doesn’t mean that I don’t still have moments of utter confusion or sadness, but there a lot less frequent.

1.) Change your diet. Processed foods, animal products, and crap fuel for your body will bog you down and make you feel crappy.

2.) Exercise. I would perpetually get super excited for my new workout routine, only to follow it for about a week and then give up. But then I decided to start smaller. Set your goal to walk 3-4 times a week, a mile each time. Build up your routine little by little to make sure it sticks, just make sure you’re moving and getting fresh air.

3.) Get tested for metal toxicity. I had toxic levels of aluminum in my system, contributing a lot to my depression and anxiety. I got rid of it naturally by taking holistic medicine.

4.) Meditate. Sometimes clearing your head (or quieting the constant chatter just a bit) can help you get out of the suffocating thoughts and gain a little perspective on everything.

5.) Breathe. Sometimes when we feel anxiety or deep sadness we forget to take deep breaths. By breathing deeply you ground yourself and bring yourself back to the present moment.

I know all of these tips are simple, but they work. I know, because I’ve done them all and it has helped me immensely. Make sure to remember to give yourself a break and lots of love.

–Much love–Callie

 

Leave a Reply

