What Do You Feel Best Doing?

Good morning all ❤ I hope your days started off bright and sunny!

For awhile, I wondered why I didn’t really enjoy going out to bars every weekend and getting drunk. I wondered why I had more fun doing yoga or reading a good book, cooking or talking with friends. I felt like there was something wrong with the fact I wasn’t looking to party all the time. ( I know I probably write about this all the time, but oh well). Even when I did try it, it never quite cracked up to that Instagram version of fun (you know, the totally fake one, but still I think a small part of it believes it’s real on someee level).

But, the more I just follow my heart, the happier I am doing the simpler things. I have genuine fun in having deep conversations for hours, trying out new recipes, or doing yoga or walking outside. It’s almost summer now, and the air smells like a mix between bonfires and fresh bloomed flowers. When I am out there with that scent, feeling the warm air softly blowing against me, I feel peace and a huge rush of happiness. It’s simple, it doesn’t require thought, it is just beautiful, refreshing, and serene.

I am happy. And I find everyday happiness in the simplest things. I think we kind of miss out on seeing it sometimes, when our minds are racing and we are on a quest to find happiness. Our egos try to tell us happiness is this elaborate and complicated thing to come by, and that we have to be out doing crazy, picture perfect things in order to obtain it. We have to buy numerous things, have this many likes, have this many friends, be so exotic that you’ve traveled the country three times already… basically our egos tell us that enough is never enough, and that we are never enough.

And that’s why it’s so funny that there is such fulfillment and happiness in the simple, little things. It’s not about going off and doing something crazy, it’s about those midnight talks on the couch with someone you love, or the smell of coffee in the morning, the fresh air hugging your skin, the blueness of the sky. There is love, beauty, and happiness in those simple things. And maybe I just sound like a crazy hippie to you, and that’s cool I don’t really care. I’m just telling you about my experience.

Because I’ve been the girl who strived, strived, strived or more, more, more experiences but every time I was left feeling more depressed and unfulfilled. I’m finding more and more happiness in the little things, so I thought I’d share this so you can find them too.

And I just want to make it clear that I don’t think there is anything wrong with trying new things, traveling the world three times, or buying what you want. Those things can be fun, they just won’t fill up that feeling like enough will never be enough, because that’s an ego trap. Just listen to your heart, and know that you are already enough. When you fill filled up with love already, you don’t have to go out searching everywhere for it, it’s in you. So, then when you do go off on an adventure, you’ll already be happy, instead of going on a trip to prove something to yourself or to try to find happiness out there. (I’ve don’t that too, and the trips ended up not being fun at all).

Just know that you are enough. And that some of the most wonderful things in life are the simplest.

What do you feel your best doing?

Much love–Callie

Leave a Reply

